I love a good mille feuille (although I always feel silly trying to pronounce it - ‘Mill Foy’ right?). I tend to stick with calling it a vanilla slice, and I’ve made the classic version lots of times (don’t know why I haven’t put it on the blog yet, I’ll have to get on that one). But here’s my Chocolate Mille Feuille. Chocolate crème pâtissière layered with sweetened pastry and finished with a drizzle of Nutella (I had to go there), chopped hazelnuts and mini chocolate caramel Easter eggs!! Adding Chocolate eggs on top definitely makes it an Easter Dessert…

So how do you get that layered, crunchy pastry layer? It took me a bit of trial and error, but I found it best to use ready-rolled puff pastry. Simply place it on a baking tray, give it a good dusting with icing sugar (confectioners’ sugar), then place some baking parchment on top and place another tray on top. Add something a little weighty too, such as a pan. This will help to keep the pastry relatively flat and uniform, but you’ll still see the layers when you cut the pastry.

The chocolate crème pâtissière (ok, chocolate custard), is quick and easy to prepare, but beware, it’s really moreish. I just wanted to pour the leftovers over a bowl of  sliced banana and re-live my childhood. Oh, by the way, this chocolate vanilla slice is ridiculously calorific! It’s also pretty huge - so if you want lower that calorie amount at all, you can definitely chop it into smaller pieces:

So how’s life treating you guys? I’ve been suffering with a horrendous cold for the last week. I didn’t move much at the weekend, but I managed to soldier on through the week, shooting pictures and videos, then totally flaking out at the end of each day. The kids have been off for the past two days (snow days), thoroughly enjoying the snow and watching excessive amounts of Netflix whilst Chris and I have been working. I had to cancel my personal trainer on Tuesday because the thought of doing anything more energetic than walking up the stairs gave me a coughing fit. We finally managed to get a session in this morning, at 6:30am, after walking around to my training buddy’s house in the freezing wind and snow. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to get out of bed less in my life, but I’m glad it’s done, and will kick my butt into getting back on track again.

The Easter Chocolate Caramel Egg Mille Feuille Recipe:

  Hot Cross Buns Chocolate Orange Hot Cross Buns Giant Creme Egg Cheesecake Dip Cadbury Creme Egg with cinnamon toast soldiers  Roast Shoulder of Lamb and when Easter is over check out my 10 ways to use up leftover Easter eggs.  

Easter Chocolate Caramel Egg Mille Feuille - 77Easter Chocolate Caramel Egg Mille Feuille - 83Easter Chocolate Caramel Egg Mille Feuille - 99Easter Chocolate Caramel Egg Mille Feuille - 36Easter Chocolate Caramel Egg Mille Feuille - 29Easter Chocolate Caramel Egg Mille Feuille - 54Easter Chocolate Caramel Egg Mille Feuille - 70