What Is a Dark and Stormy?

It consists of rum and ginger beer, and maybe, just maybe, a splash of lime. But it can’t be just any old rum. Dark rum is a necessity, and if you want to make the drink true and proper, it must be Gosling’s black rum.

How To Drink a Dark and Stormy

The rum is often served floating on top, mimicking a stormy sky. The first thing any seasoned Dark and Stormy drinker will do, however, is stir it up. It is also officially served in a highball glass, though for those of us who love the drink, any glass will do. If you’ve spent any amount of time with me, you’ll know I’m not much of a drinker. (Cheap date!) But I find it very hard to turn down a Dark and Stormy. I had one for the first time several years ago visiting my friends Ann and Nick in Annisquam, Mass, a village outside of Gloucester, right on the water by Lobster cove. This is a drink for breezy days by the ocean, with sailboats and salty air. Do you like Dark and Stormys? If so, with lime juice or without? (I prefer it with.) And do you have a favorite brand of ginger beer to go with it? Did you love this recipe? Give us some stars below!