This is so simple that I’m not sure I can even call it a recipe. It is delicious though, so I had to share it! I love anything with Amaretto in. That sweet, almond scent - reminds me of bakewell tarts and marzipan - drool! I could happily got for a day out to an Amaretto factory and just sit on a bench, inhaling it all day. I wonder if if it’s possible to get drunk inhaling Amaretto scent? Surely not - otherwise all the workers would have to get the bus home. Oh dear, sorry I’m digressing already. It’s late and I’ve had a ridiculously busy week (can’t wait to tell you more soon, but I’ve been doing some recipes with OvenPride - including some short videos! totally nerve-racking, but I’ll share more with you next week). Oh, and I drank a glass of this stuff too 🙂 It’s only got a tablespoon of Amaretto in, but I am a bit of a lightweight…..

Belgian chocolate ice cream, drizzled with Amaretto and steaming hot coffee. So so good. Original Italian affogato is just vanilla ice cream with a shot of espresso. The espresso shouldn’t even cover the ice cream. Mine is a little different in that I use more coffee - to cover the ice cream. If you start eating right away you can class it as dessert. Leave it for a couple of minutes, and you have an after-dinner drink where the ice cream has melted and left a gorgeous creamy topping to your boozy drink.

How would you drink yours?

The Chocolate and Amaretto Affogato Recipe:

Chocolate and Amaretto Affogato - 61Chocolate and Amaretto Affogato - 56Chocolate and Amaretto Affogato - 43Chocolate and Amaretto Affogato - 36Chocolate and Amaretto Affogato - 55Chocolate and Amaretto Affogato - 36