Apart from the blueberries which you would probably go out to buy, all other ingredients used in this galette recipe are pantry staples. Let me show you how to make it in easy steps.

What is galette

Are you new to galette: Well, a quick history; galette is of French origin and it is a free form pie that is similar to tart or pie but without the fuss of blind baking. French pastry wrapped around fruits or vegetables. It is rustic in appearance and quite easy to make. One of the things you wouldn’t have to worry about when making galette of any sort is perfection. Although you need to get the pastry right, no one wants to be biting into a bland and soggy shortcrust pastry or pastry of any kind.

Easy blueberry galette recipe

Humblebrag before we get down talking about today’s recipe, I make the best shortcrust pastry, just like my vanilla sponge cake. I am no pro baker but I am definitely not lacking in the eras aforementioned areas. Basic cake making and shortcrust pastry, I can surely give you the best recipes on those. I am still working on perfecting my rough puff pastry recipe, I am not there yet and trust me, I won’t be sharing it until it is perfect for you and I and foolproof too. Ok, back to my blueberry galette recipe, I think it would be unfair to this amazing summer weather if I don’t share with you one of my favourite summer desserts. I love blueberries as snack, in my cakes, smoothies and of course pies. It is one of the easiest berries you can eat without worrying about it been sour and it is very affordable. I love making this open pie because of the freedom it gives you. When I want to make it fancy, I do individual ones like a mini galette or a giant one like I am sharing today to be shared with friends and family. The best part about making blueberry galette is that you can also use frozen blueberries but I like to stick with fresh fruits. I also made my pastry in the food processor which made the whole process short and fun. You can also make the pastry ahead of time. It is important to rest the pastry by chilling it in the fridge for at least 30 minutes to 1 hour. You can also leave it overnight in the fridge if you prefer.

This recipe is in four stages.

First, you make the pastry and chill (this is an important step that must not be missed if you want flaky pastry)

Make the filling

Assemble the galette and

Bake in the oven

Shortcrust pastry ingredients

All purpose flour (plain flour) Butter: ensure you use good quality butter and make sure the butter is cold and not at room temperature. Cold butter produces flaky and delicious pastry. Salt Sugar Iced cold water

Filling ingredients

Blueberries Cornflour All purpose flour Sugar Lemon juice

How to make blueberry galette

To a food processor, add plain flour, salt, sugar and pulse for about 5 seconds just until it is combined. Add cubed cold butter and pulse for about 15 seconds just until about the flour mixture looks like crumbs in appearance. Don’t worry if you can still see some clumps of butter, it means the end result of your pastry is promising. Add about 4 to 5 tablespoons of ice cold water to the flour passing it through the lid while you continue to run food processor one at time until a dough is formed. The whole process took about 20 seconds. Place the dough on a cling film and wrap it then press it down to form a disc. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to an hour. Preheat the oven to 200C/390F standard oven, 180C/365 fan oven. Prepare the baking tray by lining it with a baking paper. Make the filling: to a bowl, add the blueberries, cornflour, plain flour, sugar, lemon juice and mix to combine and set aside while you roll the dough. (You can keep it in the fridge if you want) Lightly flour a work surface, unwrap the dough and place on the floured bit, sprinkle a bit more flour on top of the dough. Roll out the dough into a circle if you can at around 4 mm thick. Lift the pastry gently off the work surface and wrap it around the rolling pin. Unroll it over the prepared baking tray. Add the blueberry filling in the middle of the dough, leaving about 2 to 3 inches out the edges, fold the edge around the filling, it is ok if it overlaps, just pleat it. Make a quick egg wash, break an egg into a bowl and whisk to combine. Brush the egg on the dough. Finally, sprinkle about ½ tablespoon or 1 tablespoon of sugar on the dough and bake the galette in the oven for 25 to 30 minutes or until golden brown, fruit completely cooked but not dried out.

Tips for making blueberry galette.

As I mentioned earlier, you can make this pastry dough ahead of time for up to 3 days in the refrigerator Swap the blueberries for strawberries or any other fruits of choice.

How to store this recipe

This is best eaten fresh on the day it was baked. I won’t recommend storing in the refrigerator for more than 24 hrs. Taste and texture might not be the same after the day the open pie is made.

More quick dessert and summer recipes

Easy summer fruit salad Iced coffee Coffee sponge cake Cream cheese fruit dip Cranberry cream cheese dip Chicken kabobs and vegetables If you made this easy homemade blueberry galette recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE RATE IT AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT. USE #THEDINNERBITE OR TAG @THEDINNERBITE ON INSTAGRAM SO I CAN SEE YOUR PHOTOS, I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR CREATIONS. THANK YOU!

Blueberry Galette Recipe - 8Blueberry Galette Recipe - 24Blueberry Galette Recipe - 54Blueberry Galette Recipe - 76Blueberry Galette Recipe - 4Blueberry Galette Recipe - 81Blueberry Galette Recipe - 39Blueberry Galette Recipe - 72Blueberry Galette Recipe - 30Blueberry Galette Recipe - 49Blueberry Galette Recipe - 44Blueberry Galette Recipe - 56Blueberry Galette Recipe - 38Blueberry Galette Recipe - 95Blueberry Galette Recipe - 25Blueberry Galette Recipe - 35Blueberry Galette Recipe - 41Blueberry Galette Recipe - 71